more from

Offerings from the Algorithm

by Spray

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £3 GBP  or more




The irrepressible duo of Jenny McLaren (vocals, guitars) and Ricardo Autobahn (synthesizers) better known as Spray, those national treasures of pop that have terrorised the music charts (and Cliff Richard) in various guises since the late 1990s, produce their first works of 2020 with a new EP Offerings From The Algorithm out 22nd of May 2020, via AnalogueTrash.

McLaren and Autobahn have an impressive CV by any standards. Topping the Festive 50 twice, recorded possibly (one of) the best Peel Session ever, selling over a million records, gaining a top 4 UK chart hit and appearing on Top of the Pops as The Cuban Boys (with the infectious Cognoscenti vs Intelligentsia). There are also the Eurovision adventures, the collaborations with Daz Sampson (which yielded another Top 10 hit with Rhinestone Cowboy sung by Glenn Campbell himself), and the TV and video game soundtrack work.

Following a busy 2019 where they not only released Failure Is Inevitable, their first album on AnalogueTrash (and accompanying remix EP), played live to enthusiastic audiences and released a Christmas single with The Lancashire Hotpots, Spray continue their red-hot form with a pulsating four-track EP ripe for your summer playlists.

Kicking off with the single remix of Chump (For My Love) from the aforementioned Failure Is Inevitable, a new pop sparkle is given to the best ballad on the album and is easily the most outwardly relaxed track here, in which Jenny’s glorious vocals ring through. Pulses and BPM rise significantly across the remainder of the EP with tracks like Everybody Dances (To Digital Music) guaranteed to get Spray devotees bouncing around living rooms, working men’s clubs, and at the next Spray gig.

The signature acerbic Spray lyrical content (and tongues being placed firmly in cheeks) abound in both One Way Ticket To Hitsville, and You’ll Never Be Forgiven and as always demands the listener pays close attention to the content behind those utterly infectious tunes to fully comprehend the wit and message wrapped in a silk glove.

“It’s a good way to try out topical material like the anti-Brexit You’ll Never Be Forgiven,” laughs keyboard wizard Ricardo Autobahn when speaking about the EP, “…but coronavirus has rendered that old news! We’ve also got a new video that we made before lockdown started.”

For those that know them, this is a welcome addition to the Spray catalogue they hold with such affection. For those starting out on their Spray journey, this is leftfield indie disco synthpop – with a big stick!


released May 22, 2020

Composed, performed and produced by Spray
Spray performed by Jenny McLaren and Ricardo Autobahn


all rights reserved



Spray Lancashire, UK

Ric and Jen were members of 21st century pop terrorists The Cuban Boys, who topped John Peel's Festive 50 and the UK singles charts.

Their offshoot project Spray predicted the electropop boom, unfortunately much too early for them to cash in. They released two albums in 2002 and 2006.

In 2016 they released their first full length studio album in 10 years - 'Enforced Fun'.
... more


contact / help

Contact Spray

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Track Name: You'll Never Be Forgiven
Once everything was pretty fine
That may be generalized
But all that you now leave behind's
A messy compromise

This is what happens when you do things by committee you will see
There won't be no fond memories

You'll never ever be right
You'll never be justified
You'll never be forgiven
You'll never ever be lost
You'll never question the cost
You'll never be forgiven

A generation built on spite
And gross ineptitude
They had it all and yet decided
That the world was skewed

I used to dream about a future built on baseline competence
Now I just dream I'll get to sleep

You'll never be glorified
You won't be idealized
You'll never be forgiven
You won't be hit with the bill
You cannot understand "will"
You'll never be forgiven

Once everything was pretty fine
Warm and revitalized
The warzone that you leave behind
Blown up and set on fire

The condescending pseuds, the milquetoasts and their house of fools will never feel the consequences caused

You fizz with impotent rage
Your schemes were nothing but vague
You'll never be forgiven
Until the day that you die
And then long after you die
You'll never be forgiven

If you like Spray, you may also like: